Address

Author Topic: Python  (Read 1190 times)

dr_jkl

• FamiLAB Member
    • View Profile
Python
« on: August 03, 2012, 11:39:41 AM »
As a Perl programmer, I have to ask: is it worth it to learn python? I've been working on a project to convert some python scripts to Perl so that they are easier to maintain, but I am not sure it's worth picking up a new language just for that. What are everyone's experiences with using python in a corporate environment?

ThantiK

• FamiLAB Member
  • Resident 3D printer guru.
    • View Profile
Re: Python
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 02:11:49 AM »
I've been working on a project to convert some python scripts to Perl so that they are easier to maintain.

Does not compute.

dr_jkl

• FamiLAB Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2012, 12:16:20 PM »
 If you have a shop full of Perl programmers and nobody knows python but a feature needs to be added to a python script... I thought it better to rewrite it in a language that is more widely used around the shop...

My question is more along the lines of does it make more sense to rewrite something in a language you know or pick up a second language just to fix someone else's code?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

ThantiK

• FamiLAB Member
  • Resident 3D printer guru.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2012, 04:55:00 PM »
http://brainsik.theory.org/.:./2009/why-reddit-uses-python