Address

Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 1182 times)

nanolith

• View Profile
Introduction
« on: February 05, 2014, 09:28:33 AM »

Hello.  My name is Justin.  I attended your open house last night, and I am interested in becoming a member of your hackerspace.

I am a self-taught software / firmware engineer, with over fifteen years of experience in this field.  When I'm not working, I make beer, pickles, and cheese.  I have two 3D printers, an Eigenharp Tau, and about a dozen Raspberry Pis.  My real passion, however, is compiler development and inventing new domain-specific software development languages.

I am interested in improving my skills in other areas: welding, mechanical engineering, carpentry, forging, and machining.  In exchange for these skills, I'm willing to trade what I've learned over my career.  Want to learn how to build reliable embedded systems in C++?  Want to learn server-side development using Functional Programming languages like Scala or Haskell?  Have a desire to improve your software development skills with SOLID design principles, or Test-Driven Development?  I can teach these things and more.

More important than the trade of skills, I am interested in the cross-pollination of ideas that occurs when people with different interests collaborate to build things.  I think this is one of the main benefits of a hackerspace, and I believe that helping to build a community of builders here in Orlando will reap benefits beyond Familab itself.  It's this long view that I find the most appealing.

darkmoonsinger

• Treasurer
  • Administrator
  • I am no one but all that I am.
    • View Profile
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 09:31:48 AM »
Welcome! Always good to see more programming language people here. :)

digitalman2112

• Lab Dad (ex-treasurer)
  • FamiLAB Member
  • Work Hard, Play Hard!
    • View Profile
    • Raising Geeks
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2014, 09:56:50 AM »